Monday, January 10, 2011

Congrats to ALA Award Winners!

ALA announced the 2011 award winners today at Midwinter. Here are some highlights!

John Newbery Medal:
Moon over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool 
Newbery Honor Books:
  • Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer L. Holm
  • Heart of a Samurai by Margi Preus
  • Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night by Joyce Sidman, illustrated by Rick Allen
  • One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia  
Randolph Caldecott Medal:
A Sick Day for Amos McGee illustrated by Erin E. Stead and written by Philip C. Stead
Caldecott Honor Books:
  • Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave illustrated by Bryan Collier and written by Laban Carrick Hill
  • Interrupting Chicken written and illustrated by David Ezra Stein
Michael L. Printz Award:
Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi
Printz Honor Books:
  • Stolen by Lucy Christopher
  • Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King
  • Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick
  • Nothing by Janne Teller
Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award:
One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia
Coretta Scott King Author Honor Books:
  • Lockdown by Walter Dean Myers
  • Ninth Ward by Jewell Parker Rhodes
  • Yummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty by G. Neri, illustrated by Randy DuBurke
William C. Morris Award (a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens):
The Freak Observer by Blythe Woolston
Morris Honor Books:
  • Hush by Eishes Chayil
  • Guardian of the Dead by Karen Healey
  • Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lisa McBride
  • Crossing the Tracks by Barbara Stuber  
For the full list of award winners, you can go to ALA's official press release here:

Congatulations to all the winners!
Enjoy your reading!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for taking the time to comment!

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.